First Impressions/ Review: Real Techniques Starter Kit

A few days ago, I wrote a review on the Core Collection by Real Techniques, so I thought it would be a good idea to review this one as well. Just like the Core Collection, this brush set is something that I use everyday. Of course there are some brushes which I like more than others but generally, for the price you’re paying for, this is a great set to have.

20121225-012051.jpg

Left-Right

  • Accent brush: designed for precision detailing, spotlighting, highlighting, and smudging
  • Pixel-point eyeliner brush: tapered cut is ideal for dense or fine eyeliner application
  • Brow brush: distinctive shape easily defines eyebrows
  • Base shadow brush: applies a smooth, flawless foundation of color
  • Deluxe crease brush: soft, oversized design for effortless contouring

It also comes with the 2-in-1 brush holder which looks like the one that came with the Core Collection (not pictured).

 

My favourites are the accent brush, brow brush and base shadow brush! the accent brush is PERFECT for putting on eyeshadow on the lower lashline. The brow brush is larger than an angled liner brush which makes filling in my brows really quick. Of course, this means that you have less control over product placement and it would be slightly difficult to work with if you have thin brows but since my brows are not too thin this brush works fine for me. The base shadow brush is extremely versatile if you don’t have a lot of lid space like me. It will work as both a crease brush and a base shadow brush. The deluxe crease brush I use to actually set my under eye concealer with powder because it is too large to do any crease work with. Using this brush in my crease led to a very messy look. I have yet to use the eyeliner brush because I already have so many.

 

OVERALL RATING :9/10

 

The brush set is lovely for traveling and is worth every cent! Each brush would cost exactly SGD 6.40 if you buy it from UnderTwenty-20! They’re so soft and of such great quality. These brushes have not shed any bristles over the past 5 or so times I’ve washed them. Highly recommended!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

